Christmas Drinks

25 Dec

Around this time of year you realize there are plenty of traditions, some that are steeped in tradition, some only really done in the country you live in or some you’ll only do with your family.

It was one of these family ones that got me thinking about how a tradition or a thing that you do becomes acceptable. We have a chicken and champagne brunch and I don’t really know why. Some relative with a taste for the bubbly and a desire to get in early and get the best bit of the Christmas chicken must have got it started somewhere along the line and we’ve just continued it.

While I was knocking back a glass of bubbly early on this morning I mentioned to my hubby that it was odd that champagne is acceptable at pretty much breakfast time but if I reached into the fridge and poured myself a glass of white wine I guarantee it would raise a few eyebrows. Why is it acceptable because it’s got bubbles? I’m not sure what time of the day is acceptable to start drinking but it seems you can get the party started early if it’s got bubbles. It’s going to be a whole different type of party however if you go bubbleless!

I wondered if I would get many takers if I told friends to drop by for a vodka shots and hot dog brunch. That certainly doesn’t sound as nice and it really doesn’t sound like it would end nicely either. Maybe champers and chicken is acceptable because of its use of alliteration. I had to think long and hard but here are some alternatives

*Beer and Bacon

*Pinot and Pastries

*Chardonnay and Canapés

*Spirit of choice and Sandwiches

I’m not sure I’m going to adopt any of these but I do think its unfair that champagne and chicken seemed to have a stranglehold on what is considered an acceptable alcoholic start to the day!

Whatever your tradition is hope you have fun doing it!

14 Responses to “Christmas Drinks”

  1. jennsmidlifecrisis December 25, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Champagne sounds good!

  2. christinethings December 27, 2012 at 2:14 am #

    “Maybe champers and chicken is acceptable because of its use of alliteration.”

    Funny how alliteration makes just about anything okay.

    • Ramblings of a Quickwit December 31, 2012 at 4:28 am #

      I know, when you use it makes it seem like you have a great grasp on the English language when in reality you just like making the same noise!!

  3. replenishforhealth December 28, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    I think this blog might be out of my league. I had to google “alliteration” to find out what it meant.

    • Ramblings of a Quickwit December 31, 2012 at 4:22 am #

      Lovely lady I will make a pact with you, if you keep giving me great ideas about to how to lead a healthy, fulfilling life I will give you words that will be of little use in your everyday life!

      PS Spellcheck told me how to spell it, I thought it started with an i, me not so smart after all

      • Linda January 4, 2013 at 10:40 am #

        As in ‘illiteration’? Is that the act of making someone illiterate? Or does it have something to do with having a child out of wedlock?

      • Ramblings of a Quickwit January 6, 2013 at 12:21 am #

        Linda, I’m pretty sure only reality television can make you illiterate, ha ha. Having an easily amused mind I enjoy alliteration because it’s when words repeat a particular sound, eg Peter Piper picked a Peck of Pickled Peppers. Me find this funny!! Thanks for dropping by

  4. Linda January 6, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    I was attempting humour with the ‘illiteration’ quip! ( I saw it on “The Biggest Loser” or some other reality show…) I am actually a big fan of alliteration – round and round the ragged rocks the rugged rascal ran…’Loving the blog by the way. See you soon,

    • Ramblings of a Quickwit January 6, 2013 at 10:33 am #

      Ha,ha clearly I’m crap at good subtle humour, actually subtle in general but as I said do love a good alliteration so thanks for the round and round. Watch out world alliteration connoisseurs are starting to unite, we will watch and wonder when you will wander our way (I tried). Do you have a blog I can read?

  5. jennsmidlifecrisis January 17, 2013 at 12:30 am #

    Hi. I have tagged you as The Next Best Thing, and to see what that means, check out http://jennsmidlifecrisis.wordpress.com/2013/01/15/the-next-best-thing/

  6. Anita Mac January 26, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

    I love it!!!! You crack me up! Nearly spilled my breakfast hot chocolate and baileys while reading your comment on my Australia day post and had to come over a check out your blog! You may have just become my daily dose of humour! Lady – you crack me up!

    • Ramblings of a Quickwit January 28, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

      Breakfast hot chocolate with baileys, I like the way your day starts! Thanks for the follow and I’m already green with envy just from reading your dog sled adventure, can’t wait to read more of your adventures.

  7. blitzpillager March 9, 2013 at 10:55 am #

    If you need complimentary lists, lol, try these for fun.

    Cognac and crepes
    Saki and Sushi
    Beer and Donuts
    Chianti and Mozzarella cheese sticks
    Brandy and cinnamon rolls

    I think I could really keep going here with this list, but then you would think I was a total lush like Julia Child.

    My favorite all around good hearty favorite that I make is bacon wrapped BBQ brautwurst, served with a nice Belgian ale. Life is sweet when you’re blitzpillager 😉

    • Ramblings of a Quickwit March 10, 2013 at 1:04 am #

      Nice work, your life does sound indeed sweet! If I ever sober up from trying out my list I might just start on yours.

Leave a Reply

