Expectations

8 Dec

 

I would never profess to offer advice on parenting as I am constantly surprised that my children haven’t officially asked anyone else to parent them.  I think that they appreciate that my husband and I try so they figure they should stick around, maybe they think if nothing else they will have great stories of their parent’s failings to share in years to come.

I will share this little nugget as it highlighted to me how being a quickwit is tested to it’s limits in this pc world.

Each of my children have gone to different kinders due to us moving and kinders closing etc.  Every kinder, like schools, have their own different personality, they can be warm and cuddly, kind of like a visit to grandmas. Others can be relaxed and forward thinking with all the new mod cons or old school with definite rules and regulations.  So for my third kinder I walked in wondering which kind of kinder this would be.

This kinder was new and shiny; it was light filled and designed for little people.  As soon I entered it I knew my little ragamuffin would love it, mostly because of the enormous outdoor play area, he could roll, run, jump and hurl himself in many different directions.  So the physical environment, tick, now it was time to meet his teacher.  Don’t get me wrong I’m not a polly precious, unless they’re locking my kid in a cupboard for the day I’m pretty happy with whatever style they tend to teach.  I’d heard on the mum grapevine that she was lovely so we rocked up ready to roll for our orientation day.

We had been allocated four 3 hour sessions, far from ideal in my mind but there are a lot of breeders in my suburb so I had to take what I was given.  Number 3 was definitely more than ready for kinder and I was more than ready for him to go.  The young kinder teacher with kind eyes greeted us and made an effort to bend down and look her new student directly in the eye.  His eyes had already spotted the funfilled playground, he mumbled something to her and ran off to the playground as fast as his feet would take him.  He had no hesitation in abandoning me and leaving me to talk to our new teacher.

We sat on very small chairs and my ever expanding bott bott  splodged over the side of the chair.  I made a mental note to myself to try and fit a gym session in at least one of the free 3 hours I have four times a week!  I dutifully answer all the questions that I’m sure I’ve already answered in some paperwork I was required to fill in with his enrolment but hey I’m his mum so this is my job.  Just when I think we are done and my will to live is sapping away she hits me with the zinger.

“What are your expectations of the kinder experience?”

Expectations?

What?

Now this is where quickwit instantly kicks in

“I expect to drop him off and not see him for 3 whole hours”

“I expect you to tell me if he is a psycho/socio/ nuttio path in case in amongst all the other things I’m doing for him I have missed this”

“I expect to do minimum kinder duty but talk and rave on about it so much that he will think I am doing much more and he will think I have put maximum effort in.”

and finally

“I expect to not have to sell chocolates, raffle tickets, photo packages, tea towels, cups, mugs, name stickers, pies and whatever else is the new fundraiser, I just want you to take this fifty bucks and shred all my fundraising notices”

I was just about to let rip when I looked into her energetic, young, enthusiastic, compassionate eyes and I knew that I couldn’t say any of these things so I say what she wants to hear.  I will leave the truth to be told by the woman I saw in the hallway who was struggling to keep her brood of 5 in check.  If there is anyone who has lost all sense of social niceties it must be her!!!

8 Responses to “Expectations”

  1. jennsmidlifecrisis December 8, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    It’s nice that you can “ease into” the hours apart! 🙂 Big Guy went every other morning, and cried (and clung to me) from Sept. to May. He got the “most improved student award”. Little Guy, on the other hand, started all day, every day – and came home an exhausted (but happy) boy. Funny how they are so different. I couldn’t wait for Big Guy to like school…and I kind of wished Little Guy missed me more. I suddenly had 6.5 hours to fill!

    • Ramblings of a Quickwit December 9, 2012 at 1:34 am #

      They are a funny lot, I’m always amazed that the same DNA mix produced such different little specimens. None of mine have had any problems going off to kinder, school etc, not sure what that says about my parenting!

  2. Lisa December 10, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    Love it Sam, I think we share the same expectations!

  3. Loretta December 13, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    It’s funny cause it’s true!!!! Nice work Sam.

  4. jennsmidlifecrisis December 14, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

    I nominated you for the Liebster award. Instructions are available on how to ‘accept’ (if you want to accept) in my post:
    http://jennsmidlifecrisis.wordpress.com/2012/12/14/the-liebster-blog-award/
    (sorry – I don’t know how to make that a link…)

  5. honeydidyouseethat? January 7, 2013 at 9:26 am #

    Ha. Oh boy that brings back memories. Thanks for following.

Leave a Reply

